A Jerry Maguire Moment

RETRO POST

DO3 Founder Brandon Lindsey takes you back to the very moment his ideas for DO3 came together in what he calls his “Jerry Maguire moment”.

Its amazing to see the strides that DO3 has taken in less than a year!

“We all have moments in our life that we can recall exactly where we were and what we were doing when a specific event occurred. For some of you it may have been the invention of the wheel…and for others it may be the release of the 5th generation iPhone. Now I will admit that my memory is not as good as it used to be, however there are still a handful of moments that I can replay in my mind as if they had happened this morning. I can remember exactly where I was when the Challenger exploded just after takeoff. I can remember the intersection we were driving through when the radio station broke in with the news of Conway Twitty’s death (don’t know why this one stuck other than it made Mom cry). All of us will remember the horrific events of 9/11 and exactly where we were when that second plane hit the tower. For me, November 20, 2012, will forever be etched into my mind (and backed up on my iPad just in case) as the day that Dream On 3 became more than just a good idea.

“The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few…Go!” (Luke 10:2-3).

I refer to this moment as my Jerry Maguire moment. Everything stopped in that moment, and for the first time in a very long time…God got my attention. I remember calling my best friend and love of my life as soon as I got in my car and saying

“Lizzie, we need to remember this day.”

And we began fumbling through pieces of what has now become the vision and mission of this organization. Then the fun began! See, I’m a sales guy. I’m used to coming up with an idea and selling it to everyone else. This time things were different! In every conversation I had and every meeting that took place, He showed me that this had nothing to do with me and everything to do with Him. Support has been pouring in already! People have been eager to sacrifice time, money, and their skills to make DO3 happen. The crazy part is…all of this is happening and I haven’t even had a chance to give my sales pitch yet! I learned quickly that my role was not to sell this…it was simply to “Go!”

– Brandon Lindsey, Dream On 3 Founder

Share your thoughts!

